none
Project Design Help [Advice Needed ... Please] RRS feed

• Question

• First of all, I'm a noob, so be nice! 

About 33% way through my project I am beginning to see potential design flaws.  Allow me to attempt describe the structure of my project (my understanding of n-tier design(3 tier)):

[Current Structure]

Presentation Layer:

1)  Displays the visual components to the end user.

2)  Creates instances of the Business Logic Layer to retrieve data from the Data Layer

3)  Data is retrieved from the Business Logic Layer in the form of a DataTable or DataRow

Business Logic Layer:

1)  Contains various methods to establish connection to SQL database

2)  Methods include things like

A)  Update a row

B)  Insert a row

C)  Get a row or an entire table

Data Layer:

1)  SQL Express Database (Multiple tables with relationships)

I'm noticing in my Presentation Layer, I have to explicitly state table column names.  This cant be good.   So tonight I am developing 2 classes in my Business Logic Layer.  One class will represent a DataRow.  Where I have public get/set properties for each column of my table.  The second class inherits a generic list of type my first class.  I was planning on using the first class to represent a DataRow, and the second class to represent a DataTable.  However thinking about it some more, I realize that in order to fill the generic list which is my second class, I have to step through each row of a DataTable.  This is going to take more processing time then just simply passing the DataTable to the Presentation Layer.

Simple example of the two classes I have created:

public class bllMasterItem

public class bllMasterItemCollection : List<bllMasterItem>

I'm a little lost here.  How is a situation like this accomplished in a professional environment?

Friday, July 11, 2008 4:33 AM

Answers