GroupBy and OrderBy - Always orders by my group, then my orderby clause RRS feed

• Question

•  

I'm very new to Linq, so any help is greatly appreaciated.  I've now spent 3 days scouring the internet for any example that can help, and I'm still bewildered.

Here is the query I am using:

var query = from attributes in dc.vwProgramAttributes

where attributes.programID == programID

orderby attributes.CategorySortOrder, attributes.AttributeSortOrder

group attributes by attributes.AttributeGroupName into grouping

select new {AttributeGroupName = grouping.Key, Attributes = grouping};

The problem I have is that when I get the results back, it is sorted alphabetically by the AttributeGroupName, then by CategorySortOrder and AttributeSortOrder.  The categorysortorder is unique to each attributeGroupName, so grouping shouldn't create a "distinct" order for any of my group names.

Here is the SQL that creates the view:

select

p.programID

, a.attributeID

, p.ProgramName

, c.CategoryName

, ag.AttributeGroupName

, a.AttributeName

, a.AttributeDescription

, pa.AttributeValue

, at.attributeTypeName

, ct.SortOrder as CategorySortOrder

, aga.SortOrder as AttributeSortOrder

from tbPrograms p (nolock)

join tbProgramCategory pc (nolock) on pc.programID = p.programID

join tbCategory c (nolock) on c.categoryID = pc.categoryID

join tbCategoryTemplate ct (nolock) on ct.CategoryID = c.CategoryID

join tbAttributeGroup ag (nolock) on ag.attributeGroupID = ct.AttributeGroupID

join tbAttributeGroupAttribute aga (nolock) on aga.attributeGroupID = ag.AttributeGroupID

join tbAttribute a (nolock) on a.attributeID = aga.attributeID

join tbAttributeType at (nolock) on at.attributeTypeID = a.attributeTypeID

join tbProgramAttribute pa (nolock) on pa.attributeID = a.attributeID and isNull(pa.attributeValue, '') <> ''

Perhaps there is a better way for me to create the view to make this easier, I'm not sure.