Is it possible to auto start a windows store app when windows 8 boots up?

Question

• Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

I am new to Windows store app and trying to port a set of android applications to Windows 8. Could anybody help me with the following questions?

(1). On Android, there is activity with UI and service without UI running background. Does Windows 8 have such service-like thing? Or Can a Windows store app works as a service?

(2). Is it possible to auto start a windows store app when windows 8 boots up?

(3). Is there a way to allow two Windows store apps to exchange customer-defined messages?

Thursday, December 27, 2012 1:08 AM

Answers

• 1 http://blogs.msdn.com/b/windowsappdev/archive/2012/05/24/being-productive-in-the-background-background-tasks.aspx

2 To start a modern UI application you need IApplicationActivationManager::ActivateApplication (desktop app only). You can write a desktop launcher for the app and run it at boot time. Note such application won't pass Microsoft's desktop app certification.

3 only if they are in the same package.

Visual C++ MVP

Thursday, December 27, 2012 1:44 AM

All replies

• 1 http://blogs.msdn.com/b/windowsappdev/archive/2012/05/24/being-productive-in-the-background-background-tasks.aspx

2 To start a modern UI application you need IApplicationActivationManager::ActivateApplication (desktop app only). You can write a desktop launcher for the app and run it at boot time. Note such application won't pass Microsoft's desktop app certification.

3 only if they are in the same package.

Visual C++ MVP

Thursday, December 27, 2012 1:44 AM
  • Hi, Sheng Jiang,

Thanks a lot for you reply. It's very helpful.

Actually, what we want to do is

1. always have a task running background, communicating with a remote server, receiving orders; (On your help, I realized we could do this step using background task)