Trouble with Imports System.Drawing RRS feed

• Question

• Good evening,

I created a class in my windows project and it did such wondrous things that I decided to add it to the "Class Library."  This is my first attempt at doing this so I hope that you have patience with my newbie attempt.

Within the project I highlighted and copied the class to the clipboard. I then created a new project using the Class Library template and pasted the class into the new Class1.vb file. 

As I said, the class was working great in the windows project, but in the new class library declarations for a graphics object, point, rectStyles and other graphics objects are not recognized.

I assume that I need to import the System.Drawing class to this file.  The windows project worked without importing anything.  This is the state of my code.

Imports System.Drawing

Public Class DrwTxtRect

#
    Region "Internal Variables"
      Private _g As graphics

Private _txt As String
      Private _txtSize As SizeF

Private _rectLoc As Point

Private _rectSize As Size

Private _rectStyle As rectStyles

Private _txtFit As Boolean
      Private _txtPos As txtPositions

Private _txtFont As Font

Private _txtBrush As Brush

Private _rectPen As Pen

Private _rectBrush As Brush

Private _rectBrdr As Int32
    #
    End Region

‘Class Code goes here
    End Class

Intellisense is not happy with the Imports statement. It whines that "The Namespace or type specified in the Imports 'System.Drawing' doesn't contain any public member or cannot be found." In the declaration for _g as graphics, Intellisense complains that "Type 'graphics' is not defined."

Your assistance in solving this problem and in my education would be appreciated, thanks.

Tuesday, June 27, 2006 2:26 AM

Answers

• OK, a point to note with a class library.

You need to add a reference to you class library.    The imports statement will merely shorten the namespace for any namespaces classes in you class library.