How should I decode Base64 encoded XML node to a file ? RRS feed

• Question

• If I have an Inbound XML File in the following format 

<DownloadReports xmlns="https:EXAMPLE.COM">

<NGSDownloadReportsResult>
    BASE64ENCODEDFILE
    </NGSDownloadReportsResult>

</DownloadReports>

How should I pick the NGSDownloadReports node and save the decoded Base64 String as file ? I am new to BizTalk, sorry for noob questions.

• Edited by svemaraju Tuesday, August 20, 2013 6:09 PM
    Monday, August 19, 2013 7:38 PM

Answers

• Using the XmlReader, you would advance the Reader until it's on the NGDDownloadReports node, then MoveToContent.

XmlReader is a forward only reader so it doesn't really support 'search', you move the pointer until you land on the node you're looking for.

You can take a shortcut by using the ReadToDescendant method.

Monday, August 19, 2013 9:05 PM

All replies

• I am thinking of using a Orchestration. Use XPATH from my schema and use a external helper class to convert it into a string and assigned it to a message of the type System.String or System.XML.XMLDocument
    • Edited by svemaraju Monday, August 19, 2013 8:11 PM
    Monday, August 19, 2013 7:41 PM
  • Is base64encodedfile is an xml ? can you please explain your scenario is more detail?

If this answers your question please mark it accordingly. If this post is helpful, please vote as helpful.

Monday, August 19, 2013 7:56 PM
  • Base64EncodedFile is a Base64 Binary value that represents a file.

In my scenario I am uploading a file (can be any format) by converting it into its base64 representation to a webservice, I get a response from the webservice and within the response I am expecting as a base64 value inside the xml node (as shown above).

I need to decode this base64 value to extract the file I need.

Note: My outbound message needs to contain converted base64 representation of the file (not the XML with base64 value inside it).

• Edited by svemaraju Monday, August 19, 2013 8:12 PM