none
Unable to install azure-cognitiveservices-speech RRS feed

• Question

• I am a Product Manager (i.e. not a coder) investigating the speech to text and text to speech services within Azure. I have been trying to get the Quickstart examples working... 

(e.g. at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/azure/cognitive-services/speech-service/quickstarts/speech-to-text-from-microphone?tabs=dotnet%2Cx-android%2Clinux%2Cjava-runtime&pivots=programming-language-python)

This page includes the following instruction:

"If a new version is available, you can update to it with the command pip install --upgrade azure-cognitiveservices-speech."

However, when I try this command I get the response:

"ERROR: Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement azure-cognitiveservices-speech (from versions: none)
    ERROR: No matching distribution found for azure-cognitiveservices-speech"

I get the same response if I try a straight install (i.e. without the --upgrade command.)

To test if the problem was path related, I tried to install a different cognitive services package using the command:

"pip install azure-cognitiveservices-language-textanalytics"

This package installed correctly.

I tried to install all azure components using the command "pip install azure". This took a while and a large number of packages are now present, but the azure-cognitiveservices-speech package is not among them.

What am I doing wrong?!

Thanks for your help

Nick

Thursday, November 28, 2019 6:01 PM

All replies

• Hello Nick,

Could you please run the command "pip show azure-cognitiveservices-speech" command to check if the package for speech SDK is installed on your machine?

If it is installed and having issues the best option would be to remove the package using "pip uninstall azure-cognitiveservices-speech" and run install again to see if this solves the issue. 

I hope this helps you to debug the issue and install the package without any issues.

-Rohit