none
Win CE Nand boot failure RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everybody,

I'm new on this forum and i'm a newbie in ambedded systems. This is my problem:

I have a few platforms using WinCE on an Atmel AT91SAM9263.

Boot starts from a Spansion NOR flash (S29GL128P90TFI) and then the eboot from a Micron NAND flash (MT29F2G08ABAEA).

In some cases happens that after a power down, returning power on, WinCE loading from the NAND fails, leaving a permanent blank screen on my device.
    In some cases, I found several incorrect blocks into the NAND, not marked as bad blocks.

My hypotesis is that the NAND is prone to fail often but my system is not enough robust toward this event.

The solution, so far, was to reflash the NAND. But this practice is for me unsustainable because it means for the company to dismount the system from its site (sometimes on mountains, rivers and other difficult to reach locations), reprogram it at our warehouse and then reinstall in it original site.

How can I make my system more reliable, assuming that i can't avoid the NAND flash read failures during boot?

Thursday, March 20, 2014 9:31 AM

Answers

• Assuming that your OS binary is programmed in NAND Flash and your bootloader is programming the OS binary to NAND flash. if yes, you can implement the bad bloc management in bootloader and replace it to good block during programming.