none
Performing mathematical operations on array elements RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I'm new to programming and have found Small Basic to be very fun and intuitive, but I'm having problems with arrays. I have written a program to calculate my GPA. It compiles fine and runs but will not do the math properly. I'm basically asking how many classes the user has, then using that number to make an array called numClasses, so mI can calculate the grade points, etc. Anyways, here is the entire program. The part I'm sure I'm messing up on is where I 'Calculate total grade points. Any pointers or help anyone could give would be great!

[code]

'GPA calculator

'Get number of classes to calculate GPA for
    TextWindow.Write("How many classes do you have grades for?: ")
    numClasses = TextWindow.Read()

'Initialize the loop control variable and get class hours and letter grades

For i = 1 To numClasses
      TextWindow.Write("Enter class hours: ")
      hours[numClasses] = TextWindow.Read()
      TextWindow.Write("Enter letter grade for class: ")
      letterGrade[numClasses] = TextWindow.Read()
    EndFor

'Convert letter grades to grade points

For i = 1 To numClasses
        If letterGrade = "A" Then
        gradePoints = "4"
        ElseIf letterGrade = "B" Then
        gradePoints = "3"
          ElseIf letterGrade = "C" Then
          gradePoints = "2"
          ElseIf letterGrade = "D" Then
        gradePoints = "1"
      Else
        gradePoints = "0"
        EndIf
      EndFor

'Calculate total attempted hours

For i = 1 To numClasses
        totalHours = "0"
        totalHours = totalHours + hours[numClasses]
      EndFor

'Calculate total grade points

For i = 1 To numClasses
        totGradePoints[numClasses] = "0"
        totGradePoints[numClasses] = hours[numClasses] * gradePoints[numClasses]
        GradePointTotal = "0"
        GradePointTotal = totGradePoints[numClasses] + totGradePoints[numClasses]     
      EndFor

'Calculate GPA