none
How do I merging multiple queries into one query

Question

• I have an Excel workbook that is linked (connected) to an access table.  My problem is that the access table is the results of running 3 queries.  A make query, an append query and an update query.

Is there a way I can have Excel execute the access procedure to run the three queries before reading?

Or better yet, is these an SQL approach (I'm a newbie on SQL) where I can make a single query out of the three that can be used by Excel?

My three example queries are below:

MAKE QUERY:
    SELECT tblInspectionResults.EnteredDate, tblInspectionResults.LocalIndex, tblInspectionResults.Customer INTO tblTest
    FROM tblInspectionResults;

APPEND QUERY:
    INSERT INTO tblTest ( EnteredDate, LocalIndex ) SELECT tblInspectionParts.EnteredDate, tblInspectionParts.LocalIndex FROM tblTest INNER JOIN tblInspectionParts ON tblTest.LocalIndex = tblInspectionParts.LocalIndex;

UPDATE QUERY:
    UPDATE tblTest INNER JOIN tblInspectionResults ON tblTest.LocalIndex = tblInspectionResults.LocalIndex SET tblTest.Customer = [tblInspectionResults]![Customer] WHERE (((tblTest.Customer) Is Null));

• Edited by PSD1953 Wednesday, January 9, 2019 2:42 PM
    Wednesday, January 9, 2019 2:41 PM

All replies

• Hi,

The short answer is a "no," but it depends. There is a way to execute one query to update existing records and also add new ones at the same time. However, it would mean you already have an existing table to do it. So, are you creating a temporary table to process the data? Meaning, each time you run this process, you discard the previous content of the temporary table?

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 4:08 PM
  • Good question.  I am concatenating two tables, via a temporary table, and then making an update.  My concern is that I don't want to modify the two tables being concatenated.  How do I join two tables and make updates via a query so I don't have to save a temporary table?