create new sql database RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, im new in sql and im using vb express 2008. i try to "create new sql database" under "data connection" of "database explorer", but i found that the "create new sql databse" was disabled. may i know what is going of with it??
    Monday, February 23, 2009 4:53 AM

All replies

• This is not the right place to ask this question.
    Thanks, A.m.a.L
    • Proposed as answer by Kenky Dude Friday, March 6, 2009 6:36 AM
    Monday, February 23, 2009 7:33 AM
  • This is correct. I believe that you can only create a SQL Server Compact Edition database from the Express version of Visual Basic.

However, you can use SQL Server Management Studio Express to create a SQL Server database:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=7522A683-4CB2-454E-B908-E805E9BD4E28&displaylang=en

Also, keep in mind that the data designer tools in Visual Basic Express Edition only support Access, SQL Server Compact Edition and SQL Server Express Edition databases.
    Paul ~~~~ Microsoft MVP (Visual Basic)
    • Marked as answer by rhastalei Wednesday, February 25, 2009 1:13 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by rhastalei Wednesday, February 25, 2009 1:23 AM
    Monday, February 23, 2009 8:25 PM
  • thank you very much..

in ODBS under admistrative tools in control panel, we can create System Data Source and link that data source to connected sql server. what i want to do is to log all data using vb2008 and save all data to the server created in System Data Source. may i know the way to upload data to server through system data source??

i have created .mdf, .ldf and .sql file in my program folder, i do ned to place the .sql file to the server right? how can my program link with server through ethernet??

thank you for viewing..
    Wednesday, February 25, 2009 1:20 AM
  • Hi rhastalei,