none
Visual Studio Forms Designer on High Resolution Platform

Question

• I have just installed Visual Studio 2015 Community on my Windows 10 Surface Pro 4.  I develop old-fashioned programs for windows forms; I have been using Visual Studio since 2003, and am now using VS 2010.  In the Visual Studio forms designer on low-res platforms  I see the form exactly as it will appear in the executable - I can count pixels.  In VS on a high-res platform the form appears scaled down, and the relationship between controls and placement is unpredictable.  When I import old projects from VS 2010, the forms are all compressed with controls on top of each other, and I cannot work with them.  When developing new projects, I have been unable to control the appearance of the form in the executable.  So, I have found Visual Studio unusable for my development, and I have gone back to VS 2010, Windows 7 on a 1400x900 monitor.  Is there some setting or option to make the Visual Studio 2015 designer work in a WYSIWYG mode independently of the system resolution and scaling factor?

Thanks,

• Edited by wfaz2 Friday, January 15, 2016 4:47 PM
    Saturday, January 09, 2016 6:49 PM

All replies

• Hi wfaz2,

Thanks for your post.

Could you please share us a screenshot of the UI which you feel not correct.

I did a test in my side using VS2010 and VS2015. The behavior in both two VS are correct.

I create a Windows form application in VS2010 and then run in VS2010 and in VS2015.

In VS2010:

In VS2015

In addition. Please try to create a new Windows Form application in VS2015 then try it again.

If still have the problem occurred. I suppose whether there is something wrong with your Visual Studio.

In this case, try to run your VS2015 with logging turned on (devenv /log) in Developer Command Prompt for VS to check if there exist some error in log files

The logs will be in: %APPDATA%\Microsoft\VisualStudio\Version\ActivityLog.xml