ASP.net newbie - Database Connection Problem - Personal Website Starter Kit RRS feed

• Question

• User623088345 posted

Hi guys!

I am pretty new to asp.net. I thought I'd start off with the personal website starter kit to introduce myself.

Unfortunitly, I am having a problem trying to run it outside visual studio's localhost web server.

I have tried many things to reslove this problem including reinstalling all the applications to run the site, resetting permissions such as 'Network Service' and 'ASPNET', reinstalling the website files, and continiously checking that sql server can allow remote connections as well as local ones.

The following error occurs when I try to run the website remotely (http://home.waynedougan.me.uk): 

Server Error in '/personal' Application.

A connection was successfully established with the server, but then an error occurred during the login process. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 0 - No process is on the other end of the pipe.)

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: A connection was successfully established with the server, but then an error occurred during the login process. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 0 - No process is on the other end of the pipe.)

Source Error:

Line 5:  	Sub Application_Start(ByVal sender As [Object], ByVal e As EventArgs)
    Line 6:  		AddHandler SiteMap.SiteMapResolve, AddressOf Me.AppendQueryString
    Line 7:  		If (Roles.RoleExists("Administrators") = False) Then
    Line 8:  			Roles.CreateRole("Administrators")
    Line 9:  		End If

Source File: c:\inetpub\wwwroot\personal\global.asax    Line: 7

Stack Trace: