locked
Cancelled approval workflow still sending alerts RRS feed

  • Question

  • I'm also having trouble with canceled workflows - They are still sending email alerts. How do I fix this, and what is the proper way to completely cancel a workflow?  Thanks.

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:18 PM

Answers

  • Hi Becky,

    yes you can say that

    but

    When you canceld the workflow it will stop at the time but do not roll back all the tasks.

    If you Terminate the workflow it will roll back or delete your task from task list.

    Hope this will clear your doubt.

    -Hardesh

     

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:08 PM

All replies

  • Hi Becky,

    There are two different ways that you can cancel a workflow instance:

    • Cancel the workflow and notify participants

    • Terminate the workflow without notifying participants

    Cancel a Workflow:

    When you cancel a workflow, the status of the workflow is set to Canceled and all tasks created by the workflow are canceled. Participants receive an e-mail message that the workflow has been canceled.

    1. Open the list or library for which you want to cancel a workflow.

      If the name of the list or library does not appear, click View All Site Content, and then click the name of your list or library.

    2. Point to the document or item involved in the workflow, click the arrow that appears, and then click Workflows.

    3. On the Workflows page, in the Running Workflows section, click the name of the workflow you want to cancel.

    4. On the Workflow Status Page, in the Workflow Information section, click Cancel this workflow.

    5. Click Yes.

    Terminate a Workflow:

    If a workflow error occurs, or a workflow stops responding, you can terminate the workflow. Terminating a workflow sets the status of the workflow to Canceled and deletes all tasks created by the workflow but does not notify the participants.

    1. Open the list or library for which you want to cancel a workflow.

      If the name of the list or library does not appear, click View All Site Content, and then click the name of your list or library.

    2. Point to the document or item involved in the workflow, click the arrow that appears, and then click Workflows.

    3. On the Workflows page, in the Running Workflows section, click the name of the workflow you want to terminate.

    4. On the Workflow Status page, in the Workflow Information section, click Terminate this workflow now.

     

    -Hardesh

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:35 PM
  • Hi Hardesh -

    Thank you for the quick response!

    In my situation, I had canceled several workflows a couple of weeks ago (following the same procedure you describe above to Cancel a Workflow). However, several of the approvers are still receiving emails saying their task is overdue.

    Have you seen this type of issue before?

    Thanks!

    Cheers, BB

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:41 PM
  • Hi Becky,

    Check user Due date mail and see the hyper Link mentioned at the bottom of the mail.

    Is there any link ?

    -Hardesh

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:45 PM
  • Hi Hardesh -

    Yes, there is a link in the emails. We asked the approvers to go ahead and click on the link and click on Edit This Task to mark it complete, so they (hopefully) won't receive any more emails.

    Cheers, BB

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:51 PM
  • Hi becky,

    I hope your problem is solved now.

    please mark this post as answer so that other people get benifit of the same.

    -Hardesh

     

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:53 PM
  • Hi Hardesh -

    We'd like to know why the system was sending out alerts, even though we canceled the workflow.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers, BB

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:54 PM
  • Hi becky,

    Task for the assiged person is still in Task list thats why assignee getting due date mail alert all the time even if you canceled the workflow.

    -Hardesh

     

     

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 7:59 PM
  • Hi Hardesh -

    OK; so I'm thinking that as a best practice, whenever we cancel a workflow, we should go to the Tasks list and delete all of the related tasks, correct?

    Cheers, BB

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:04 PM
  • Hi Becky,

    yes you can say that

    but

    When you canceld the workflow it will stop at the time but do not roll back all the tasks.

    If you Terminate the workflow it will roll back or delete your task from task list.

    Hope this will clear your doubt.

    -Hardesh

     

    Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:08 PM
  • Hi Hardesh -

    I see - so I need to Terminate the workflow if I want the tasks to disappear.

    Thank you Hardesh!

    Cheers, BB

    • Marked as answer by Becky Brecht Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:10 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Mike Walsh FIN Friday, April 23, 2010 4:15 AM
    • Edited by Mike Walsh FIN Friday, April 23, 2010 4:16 AM Moderator Note: Mark the post that gave you the answer. Not your post confirming that you used that other post's information
    Thursday, April 22, 2010 8:09 PM
  • > please mark this post as answer so that other people get benifit of the same.   (Hardesh Mishra)

     

    DO NOT post message the sole purpose of which is to suggest to people that they mark your posts as answers.

     

    Your post is both a waste of forum space and is completely unnecessary. If your post is indeed an answer, it will be in time marked as such.

     

    (Moderator)


    FAQ sites: (SP 2010) http://wssv4faq.mindsharp.com; (v3) http://wssv3faq.mindsharp.com and (WSS 2.0) http://wssv2faq.mindsharp.com
    Complete Book Lists (incl. foreign language) on each site.
    Friday, April 23, 2010 4:15 AM