Active Directory authentication from webapp RRS feed

• Question

• User1133278812 posted

Hi

We have a webapp that uses forms authentication. All user accounts are stored in a sql server database. The system is a multi-customer system meaning that we have several customers using the same system and which have their own user accounts. Now some of our customers wants to be able to log into the system with their existing active directory users. This means that one customer might authenticate against our local sql database, another against an active directory server and a third against another active directory server.

I have no experience with AD, so i was wondering how i'm going to solve this the best possible way. I'm not sure that I want to authenticate directly against AD, so I was thinking about synchronizing user accounts i.e. once pr hour, so that I also have a local copy of all AD accounts. Or is this a bad idea?

My system authentication is role based, so I need to map local roles against AD roles. I was thinking about having one table defining mappings between local groups and AD groups. For example we have groups called admins, users and guests in our local system. Then I could define a group in AD called ext_sys_admins which maps to admins. Or is it a better way to do this?

Any thoughts?

Tuesday, November 21, 2006 3:57 AM

All replies

• User-1513591455 posted

You cannot use AD and Forms in one web site.

Using AD to authenticate users is invisble to you, the developer.  It is usual for the IT services dept to set up which AD user group has access to the site.  You can also set up Windows Security Groups in AD for each role you need, and add in users to each role.  You can check a user is in a role within the application to provide finer grained access.