none
Handling multiple N3 segments in outgoing X12 850 RRS feed

• Question

•  

I am new to BizTalk and am trying to figure out how to acomplish what I thought was a simple task.  I need to construct a purchase order that has 3 address fields.  I am using BizTalk 2006 R2 and have found creating the EDI trasnactions quite easy except for this.  My requirement is to pass address 1, 2 and 3.  The N3 segment has 2 elements for address 1 and 2 easily enough.  I see that the schema for the 850 indicates that the N3 segment can occurr 0 to 2 times.  In my mapping of my data to the 850 schema, how do I map my address 3 to a NEW N3 segment?  In our old EDI process we simply created a new N3 segment in the outgoing file and filled the new N3 segment's element N301 with my address 3 data.  How can I accomplish this with BizTalk?  I am sorry if this is not very clear, but let me supply an illustration:

I want to have the following in the outgoing 850:

N3*123 Main St.*Suite 123~
    N3*Attn:Fred~

address1   maps to   N301

address2   maps to   N302

My address3 line (the Attn: Fred) needs to be in a separate N3 segment.  How can I do this?  Is there a change that I need to make to the 850 schema or is there some other mechanism that I can use to make this happen.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Regards,

Mirko

Friday, April 25, 2008 6:51 PM

Answers

• Mirko,

The quickest and simplest way to handle these situations is with an XSLT script.

<!-- This template outputs one N3 if data present -->

<xsl:template name="N3_1">
     <xslStick out tonguearam name="adx1" />
     <xslStick out tonguearam name="adx2" />

<xslStick out tonguearam name="adx3" />

<xsl:if test="$adx1 != '' ">
      <xsl:element name="ns0:N3_Address_Information_S43">
       <xsl:element name="ns0:_166_Address_Information_E1"><xsl:value-of select="$adx1"/></xsl:element>
        <xsl:if test="$adx2 != '' ">