SQL Update Statement Rather Than Insert RRS feed

• Question

• User-2140330002 posted

I have an SQL delete/insert statement that works but I think an update statement would be more appropriate. Not sure as I am not very good at sql statements.

I have five columns in a table (access) that are updated by a gridview checkbox field. The requirement is a minimum of one checkbox checked and a maximum of five checkboxes checked.

Currently, if less than five or more than five checkboxes are checked, I get the error: 

Number of query values and destination fields are not the same.

My question is how do I avoid this error when selecting less than five checkboxes and how do I convert this SQL statement from an insert to an update statement?

Thanks in advance

Dim command As String = "insert into [Selections] ([Selection1], [Selection2], [Selection3], [Selection4], [Selection5]) VALUES("
            For Each gvRow As GridViewRow In GridView1.Rows 'itterate thru all rows  
                Dim chkBox As CheckBox = CType(gvRow.FindControl("chkBox"), CheckBox)
                If chkBox.Checked Then
                    command &= "'" & gvRow.Cells(1).Text & "',"

Dim ID = CType(gvRow.Cells(1).Text, String)
                End If
            Next
            command &= ")"
            command = command.Replace(",)", ")")

Sunday, July 18, 2010 8:35 AM

Answers

All replies

• User-158764254 posted

i would convert the sql statement to a parameterized statement

for examples read this: SQL Injection And Parameterized Queries

once you have a parameterized statement, you need to make sure you supply a parameter for each value you are inserting or updating. 

you can use a parameter with a default value if your user has made fewer selections.

I the user made too many selections, you'd either ignore the extras, or (preferrably) stop them with a validation error at the page and make them fix their selections.

Sunday, July 18, 2010 9:23 AM
  • User-2140330002 posted