Help with Lesson 1.4 in SB Conditions and Loops RRS feed

• Question

• I'm very new to programming and thus, trying to learn Small Basic. I apologise if this was answered before but could not find a proper explanation to my problem.

In lesson 1.4 in the curriculum, at the end of the page it says "Show what you know" .. I know the questions asked has some repeated mistakes

"

Create a program to convert one or more student scores from a percentage to a letter grade. First, ask the user to specify how many grades will be calculated. Then ask the user to specify the first percentage, and convert it to a letter grade based on the following criteria:

• If the percentage is less than 75 but more than or equal to 60, convert it to a
    • If the percentage is less than 60 but more than or equal to 35, convert it to a
    • If the percentage is less than 35, convert it to a D.
    • Then ask the user to specify the first percentage, and convert it to a letter grade based on the following criteria:

the problem is with the answer page, which is this:

"

TextWindow.Write("How many student grades would you like to calculate? ")

number = TextWindow.Read()

n = 1

While n <= number

TextWindow.Write("What is the student’s percentage? ")

percentage = TextWindow.Read()

If  percentage >= 75 Then

TextWindow.WriteLine("The student’s grade is A.")

ElseIf  percentage < 75 And percentage >= 60  Then

TextWindow.WriteLine("The student’s grade is B.")

ElseIf  percentage < 60 And percentage >= 35 Then

TextWindow.WriteLine("The student’s grade is C.")

Else

TextWindow.WriteLine("The student’s grade is D.")

EndIf

n = n + 1

EndWhile

"

the command or the statement "n" in this program.. I did not understand why the "n" is used "n = 1" .. can someone please explain to me why this was done? I already know all the other commands but got stuck and cant figure out why "n" was used here.

PS: is there another way of doing it other than the answer key?

Sunday, March 11, 2012 6:30 PM