none
Application is getting installed when "Debug - Start without debugging"

Question

• Hello!

I am new to this Universal Windows app. I'm following John Sharps Microsoft Visual C# Step by Step 8 ed. What is really annoying is that every time I run an application via "Debug - Start without debugging the application" pops up as installed in Windows 10. Is it suppose to do that? How can I get rid of it? I do not want to have to "uninstall" the application everytime I stop programming.

Please help me to understand how I can debug the program without it getting installed.

Friday, August 12, 2016 7:17 PM

Answers

• Hi Htnek,

I think I Know your problem this time.

>>What is really annoying is that every time I run an application via "Debug - Start without debugging the application" pops up as installed in Windows 10. Is it suppose to do that? How can I get rid of it?

Yes, it is suppose to do like this. This is by design for UWP application. After running the UWP application in Visual Studio. It will be installed on your local machine automatically.

I also have discussed with UWP experts for this. The result is No, there is no method to get rid of that.

Best Regards,

Lake Xiao

Monday, August 15, 2016 1:26 AM

All replies

• Hi Htnek,

Thanks for your post.

Could you please tell me what's the version of your Visual Studio?  If possible, please provide us a screenshot of your UI.

>>I run an application via "Debug - Start without debugging the application" pops up as installed in Windows 10. Is it suppose to do that?

No, I can run the UWP application successfully in my side. I have encountered the pop up message before.

Please restart your machine and disable the anti-virus software and firewall and run your Visual Studio as administrator then try it again.

Also try running your Visual Studio in Safe mode to Check whether some add-ins and extensions affect it (devenv /safemode)