none
C# Linq to SQL display data in objects RRS feed

• Question

• Hi i have a simple question i was wondering how to display the existing data in C# objects like Textbox, combobox or labels. At the moment a sql database file, one of the tables data is currently displayed in the datagridview control just fine.
    But what i would like to get is each row, for example column1, column2,column3 of row1 to be displayed in textbox1,textbox2,textbox3 respectively. and then when i press the next button i would like to go the next entry which means column1, column2,column3 of row2 still in textbox1,textbox2,textbox3
    This is something similar http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa984467%28VS.71%29.aspx to what i want to do but i am using LINQ so the article above is old and i am using LINQ and i am new to LINQ please help me out, i attached a file of my code as there is no point attaching the whole code here, and i am using the northwind database, the default Microsoft database as my default database, so it is easier for us to communicate...
    thanks in advance
    D.Boy
    Wednesday, August 18, 2010 11:59 AM

Answers

• var myquery = from myrow in mycontext.Orders select new
     { 
       CID = myrow.CustomerID, EmpId = myrow.EmployeeID, OID = myrow.OrderID 
     };
    //This will retrieve all records from the db
     foreach (var valuesFromQuery in myquery)
      {
        textBox1.Text = valuesFromQuery.CID;
        textBox2.Text = valuesFromQuery.EmpId.ToString();
        textBox3.Text = valuesFromQuery.OID.ToString();
      }
    //This will iterate all elementes inside the query and set the Text inside the textboxes to those values, whoever the final values will be last values 

You need for a way to access the objects in an indexed way, like first, second,... last

You can do this with the enumerator but you need to control it manually or else use an indexed collection instead such as the alternatives I recommended.

Regards