none
Output skeletal joint data RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I am a noob.  I need to output the skeletal joint coordinate data either in real time or as a file post data acquisition.  We are trying to track the motion of newborn infants. 

Also does anyone know how small of a skeleton the kinect hardware is able to track out of the box? 

Thank you.

Monday, July 18, 2011 8:51 PM

Answers

• AAARRRSINIC,

You should take a look at SkeletalViewer sample that gets installed with SDK (C:\Users\Public\Documents\Microsoft Research KinectSDK Samples\NUI\SkeletalViewer), available in both C# and C++. Also look at documentation and walkthroughs available in http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/redmond/projects/kinectsdk/guides.aspx

As far as outputting data to file for later analysis you'll need to write that code yourself, since the Kinect SDK Beta doesn't provide functionality to save this data on your behalf.

Note that the skeleton tracking algorithms haven't been extensively tested for infant posture, but if all limbs of infant are clearly visible by camera you should be able to get reasonable results.

Eddy

I'm here to help
    Monday, July 18, 2011 9:43 PM

All replies

• AAARRRSINIC,

You should take a look at SkeletalViewer sample that gets installed with SDK (C:\Users\Public\Documents\Microsoft Research KinectSDK Samples\NUI\SkeletalViewer), available in both C# and C++. Also look at documentation and walkthroughs available in http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/redmond/projects/kinectsdk/guides.aspx

As far as outputting data to file for later analysis you'll need to write that code yourself, since the Kinect SDK Beta doesn't provide functionality to save this data on your behalf.

Note that the skeleton tracking algorithms haven't been extensively tested for infant posture, but if all limbs of infant are clearly visible by camera you should be able to get reasonable results.

Eddy

I'm here to help
    Monday, July 18, 2011 9:43 PM
  • Thank you Eddy,