none
Add remove multiple space functionality to TextFieldParser RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to programming so hopefully this makes some sense. I am using VB.net.

When TextFieldParser has a delimiters set to {" "} and there are mulitple (and a varying number) spaces in a line:

"fred   joe" (3 spaces between fred and joe in this case)

ReadFields will return ("fred", " ", " ", "joe"). The TrimWhiteSpace property will not affect this because it only deals with leading and trailing white space.

I would like to extend the functionality of TextFieldParser to be able to Reduce spaces between fields. I want to do this in a generalized way since I seem to run into this situation frequently. I have tried a few ways to do this and I am not really happy with them. My current one:

- Read the file into an in memory string using a streamreader

- process the string using a stringreader, looping through each line removing multiple spaces using an extension method I wrote to the string class based on a RegEx

- create a new TextFieldParser and use ReadFields on the processed string

This is not as clean or as general as I would like though. What I think I want to do is write a class that inherits TextFieldParser and adds a ReduceSpaces property. The constructor for the class has to call MyBase.new(file, stream, or textreader) as the first statement. I want to somehow preprocess the file, stream or textreader if ReduceSpaces is true. I'm not sure how to get access to the thing passed in, preprocess it and still have the TextFieldParser base class be able to access the preprocessed data. Is that possible?

Am I headed in the wrong direction. Is there another way to do what I want?

Monday, May 21, 2012 2:23 PM

Answers