Some Basic Problems RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Every One;

I'm new to Microsoft Robotics and I'm having some problems with the tutorials. First of all I mention that I'm using Windows XP, Robotics Developer Studio 2008 Express and Visual C# 2008 Express.

1- I can't debug my programs in VPL. When I press F10 to debug, my browser opens but before showing anything it asks for a username and password and I don't know what this is. The tutorials don't  mention anything about a user-pass prompt. I've tried entering my Windows login user-pass but it was no use. I thought it might be my antivirus program but that wasn't the problem either. Please help ...

2- I've got the same problem when trying to run a DSS Node. My browser opens and it asks for a username and password. I think this problem is related to the previous.

3- Another problem is when creating a new DSS service of my own. I write a simple "Hello World Service" using the Visual C# 2008 Express template, and after I build and run the program, the command prompt won't stay up and it closes immediately without any errors. According to the tutorials, the command window must stay up and running so that I could use my browser to go to the URL for this service (which is like: http:// localhost:50000/ MyServiceName). I don’t know if this is important but, the location of the solution file isn't in the Samples directory and it's in another arbitrary location.

Many Thanks

Tuesday, December 9, 2008 8:27 AM

Answers

• If the SecuritySettings.xml file is missing then DssHost uses default values. This is standard practise for config files.

Are you running under and Administrator account? Most people do, and that changes the scenario.