none
Problem after purchase Visual Studio 2010 WITH MSDN RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a sysAdmin in a software company. So, I had ordered two units of Visual Studio 2010 Professional. So what I got was a DVD box with named 'Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Professional'. At the bottom, it state "Includes MSDN Essential Subscription". I dont know why the seller gave me this because I had asked for Visual Studio WITHOUT MSDN.

In our company we really don't need MSDN subscription. What we need is a copy of Visual Studio that

1) Valid forever

2) When a staff resigned, we would like to transfer that license to new staff that using different PC and

3) When there is a new version of Visual Studio like 2011, we would like to just buy upgrade license for it.

My problem is , do the software I bought capable to do THREE things that our company need? Please advise me or else I have to give back the copy that I bought to the seller back. I am scared to open the packaging box because it is very expensive.

Thursday, May 24, 2012 12:04 PM

Answers

• Good questions John and I can see how the inclusion of an expiring Subscription might initially raise some concerns for you about what will and will not expire.  Let me address your questions head on, and then I'll discuss a bit more about MSDN Essentials below:

1) your copy is valid forever

2) I dont know about transferring retail copies of VS to another machine, and how many times this works.  Windows 7 limits this through Activation.  You'll need to ask this question in the VS Setup and Installation forum here: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vssetup/threads

3) The presence of an MSDN Essentials Subscription will not impact your ability to upgrade your copies of VS in the future.  You have a legit, full blown copy of VS 2010, and I believe all retail copies of VS 2010 Professional include an MSDN Essentials subscription, so if you dont want to use MSDN, just dont activate it.