Managing VPN Programmatically - C# RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Maybe, I've searched the whole internet but didn't found any project that fulfill my needs. Basically, I'm thinking to create a VPN software for Windows, and Mobile; but right now, I'm not gonna talk about Mobile apps here. I'm just a student and not a professional programmer. Let me explain, I'm creating a VPN software (like Hotspot, other ..etc) but at start, I'm stuck with some important parts, like I've noticed that whenever we install a VPN, it also installs an external Network Adapter and I really don't know how it works and how to create my own. I want to know about creating/managing external Network Adapter in C# (Is it possible, ehh?). The second is, I want to manage the whole VPN directly from my application and don't want users to manual configure anything.

I'll be happy, if anyone will give me an explanation on this or maybe will help me out to complete it. I've actually got VPN servers but now I want to create an application.

Thanks,

Thursday, January 28, 2016 7:19 AM

Answers

• You can't really do a usefull VPN client without some form of TCP Hole Punching. It is doubly true now that Carrier Grade NAT is a thing to consider on top of Router NAT.
    Wich requires you to have a server on the internet. If someone asks how to let clients communicate via the internet my usual answer is: "Give them LAN ability and use an existing VPN solution, because you propably cannot afford or programm the server you need for the Hole Punching anyway."

Writing your own VPN software is not a trivial or cost free task:
    It costs money to have the server and it's DNS entry avalible.
    It requires actions below what managed code is able to acomplish (adding a virtual Network Device for example)
    It reqires complete set of knowledge of Network administration on top of all the programming.
    It requries work on two widly different pieces of software (the server and the client)