none
How to update Form from data passed from process on another thread RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am pretty new to multi threaded applications. I am trying to update a form I created with data from a wecall that retrieves information from a webpage. Essentially I send some data to a page and capture the response. I have a class library that accumulates the data needed form the web call and then creates the call and returns the desired information. The form I would like to update for the user has a self made progress bar(using different colored layered text boxes) a percentage status in the From.Text area and a current iteration of total iteration label as well as a Elapsed and Estimated time labels.

The form works great if I call everything from the UI thread, however, it freezes, not allowing the user to minimize the form or use the Abort button I have in place until the webcall is done. The webcall is done once a week and uses thousands of inputs, a task that generally takes up to two hours. This is the reason I have the UI for the user to track the progress. I have tried using the background worker, but I can't seem to make it work properly. At this point I am using something like the below, where there is a added reference library "Process" and two Classes within the Library, "ExcelIO" and "WebCall"

Imports System.Threading

Public Class Form1

Public WithEvents t As Thread

Delegate Sub InvokeDelegate()

Public Event VoidComplete(ByVal CI As Integer, ByVal TI As Integer)

Private Sub btnAbort_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnAbort.Click

t.Abort()

End Sub

Private Sub btnStart_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnStart.Click

t = New Thread(AddressOf Me.run)

t.Start()

End Sub

Private
    Sub run()

Dim xl As New Process.ExcelIO

Dim inputArray As String(,) = xl.GetArray("C:\TEST.xls")

Dim sResp As String(,) = BuildArray(inputArray)