Intersection of two subsets? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I have a set of data in PowerPivot with one row per form, where a form represents a stage in a process.  See below for an example. 

Each form has a client ID and a start date among other things.  The forms have names, such as  "Contact assessment form", "Reablement form" etc.  

I want to find, using DAX, the number of unique clients who made a transition between two stages in the process in a given timeframe.  So, to find (for example) the number of clients who went from Contact stage to Reablement stage, I would  generate a table of all those who had a Contact assessment form, and a table of all those who had a Reablement form, and find the client IDs which appear in both.  I could do this manually in excel easily, but want to crack it using DAX.  I'm sure it's a simple answer but I'm a DAX newbie and really struggling here.  Any help appreciated!

Client ID Assessment Type Start Date
    249837 Contact   assessment form 01/01/2014
    249837 Reablement form 04/01/2014
    249837 Assessment form 01/01/2014
    249837 Support Planning In Progress Form 20/01/2014
    249837 Support Plan 31/01/2014
    249837 Support Plan in Place Form 02/02/2014
    249837 Review Form 01/01/2015
    249837 Support Plan 05/01/2015
    4391283 Contact   assessment form 01/06/2014
    4391283 Assessment form 10/06/2014
    4391283 Support   Planning In Progress Form 30/07/2014
    4391283 Support Plan 30/09/2014
    4391283 Support Plan in   Place Form 30/09/2014
    329834 Contact assessment form 15/06/2014
    398341 Contact   assessment form 30/06/2005
    398341 Assessment form 05/07/2005
    398341 Support   Planning In Progress Form 30/07/2005
    398341 Support Plan 25/08/2005

Wednesday, March 25, 2015 2:42 PM

Answers

• Hi Giles,

sorry, was completely on the wrong path here…

But your approach with the 2 tables looks fine: Just connect them with one DimDate-table via StartDate.