none
a web application design question RRS feed

• Question

•  

First, thank you for your help. I am new to architecture, and I would prefer to make the right design decision.

I have the following design requirements for a web application:

1. This site would serve both internal users under Active Directory and external users (partners) who are not under Active Directory
    2. Users must be authenticated
    3. Exchanged data is sensitive
    4. There is a web services layer to connect the site to the different data stores
    5. the services layer is behind the firewall
    6. The data stores reside behind the firewall as well

My dilemma is as follows:

• Should I create two sites: one for internal users and another one for external users
    • Use AD for authentication for internal users, and use a separate identity store for external users
    • Use kerberos for internal users and X.509 for external users (for secure messaging and transport)

OR

• One single site that sits on the internet and is accessible by both internal and external users
    • Use one single identity store
    • use X.509 for secure communication

Thank you for your input.

Monday, December 1, 2008 10:10 PM

All replies

• I would use option 1

• Should I create two sites: one for internal users and another one for external users
    • Use AD for authentication for internal users, and use a separate identity store for external users
    • Use kerberos for internal users and X.509 for external users (for secure messaging and transport)

And with additional comment...

If your users are coming from another organizations like this is a B2B type website, you could consider "pass through sign on" for those external users.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008 1:49 AM
  • Hi,

I will prefer your second option

• One single site that sits on the internet and is accessible by both internal and external users (Better Maintainability and storage)