none
How to concate Master/Detail Columns RRS feed

• Question

• Hey

I Need to put strings together from a Master/Detail Database query.

Let's say, I have a Master/Detail table: Master: Customer -> table Detail: Articles

So, each customer could have multiple articles.

With Linq: I could do something like this:

Dim results = From locCustomer In DataContext.Customer Join
    locArticles in DataContext.Articles on
    locCustomer.Id Equals locArticles.CustomerId
    Let Name = locCustomer.Name
    Detail = locArticles.ArticleName
    Select Name, Detail

Then the result is not as expected, because only one ArticleName will come back and not all of them

Means, this can handle only 1:1 joins but not 1:N joins.

I would like to concat all ArticlesNames into the Detail property

How to solve this Problem?

THX a lot

• Edited by Zero-G. _ Wednesday, January 9, 2019 12:15 PM
    Wednesday, January 9, 2019 12:13 PM

Answers

• Here is another take using in this case Entity Framework in tangent with lambda. LazyLoadingEnabled means don't load navigation items e.g. orders is related to products for example and we don't want products and orders is related to customers and we (I assume) already have a customer record.

Using context = New NorthWindEntities()
    	context.Configuration.LazyLoadingEnabled = False
    	Dim orders = context.Orders.Where(Function(ord) ord.CustomerIdentifier = 3).Select(Function(ord) New With {Key .OrderDate = ord.OrderDate.Value}).ToList()
    	Dim dates = orders.Select(Function(item) item).ToArray()
    End Using

To load the customer without navigation items

Dim cust = context.Customers.FirstOrDefault(Function(c) c.ContactIdentifier = 3)
    End Using

The model this is from