Taken over app...questions about Visual Studio 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• User597793452 posted

Hi there! I've taken over support of a website built in an earlier version of Visual Studio and migrated to VS2013. It is running on an IIS 2012 server and built on ASP.NET. I am new to this environment, and have literally spent days watching Lynda.com videos to try to understand it! I think I get a good chunk of it, but am wondering if someone can answer a few specific questions that I have?

What is the difference between Build and Publish? Do I need to build and/or publish the entire site every time I change a file?

If I change one of the .cs files (controller) that is referenced in a .cshtml file, again, do I need to publish the entire site, or can I just publish that file? Having asked that, I tried publishing the .cs file, and it created a new file that is not in the location that I know the original file is in.  It published it in the website directory, but the file is located in another folder on the server. Or, can I just publish the .cshtml file (I know, this refers to  my previous question! :-) )

Thanks for any help on these...I don't want to break the site, but I've made a change to a controller, and I just need to publish it!

Tuesday, October 6, 2015 9:47 PM

Answers

• User-821857111 posted

When you Build the application, you compile it from source code (the .cs files) into dlls. You can build in either debug or release mode. For deployment to a web server, you should choose Release mode. Publishing generates a build and deploys it to the location you specify. I tend to choose a local file system location and then use an FTP client to get the compiled app up to a web server. You can find out where the app will be published to by clicking the Publish option on the menu and then looking at the Connection settings.