none
Line Height RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

Firstly, Im very new to this.
    Ive been playing with frontpage 2000 for the last few years. recently gave in and upgraded to Expressions.

there is one problem that ive still got which i was rather hoping expressions would cure.

i have came to the assumption its obviosly me!

When i copy a large amount of text from word and paste it into a table (3 columns. pasted into the middle column)
    there is always some lines that is spaced out more than others.
    I could never work ot how to get ALL lines spaced to look the same.

i have tried format>paragraph>line spacing (leaving it blank,selecting single etc, etc,)
    i have tried format>paragraph>before & after.

None of them help me to get what i consider sensible spacing. they are either too close (so much so that sometimes the bootom of the sentence is chopped off) OR too far apart.

im sure this will be an easy answer for someone!! (i will probably kick myself!)

Cheers

Mark
    Saturday, April 5, 2008 2:35 PM

Answers

• Mark,

Typically the issue is copying directly from word, or any office product, directly. What is happening is that in addition to the text you want you are also importing a lot of markup language that is fine in a printed document but not for a web site. There are two ways to paste the information in. Either past it into a notepad document and then recopy and paste into xWeb or copy it to the clipboard as you have been but instead of right clicking paste use edit->paste text and select the first option. I use the notepad method to ensure that no extra markup is being pasted into the web page.

Word, publisher, excel, etc. are mainly for the printed page. The markup they use can totally break a web page.

Sid
    Saturday, April 5, 2008 5:37 PM
  • After you copy from Word, click once in the column to set an insertion point,
    then click Edit > Paste text...
    This action will strip out any word ( or other editor ) formatting.