none
Linq to entities / changes done to datagridview not reflected in database RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Linq and experience troubles getting following done.

I have a datagridview(grdpricing) which I bind to the result of a Linq to entities query.  When I edit the datagridview, the changes are reflected on the grid but as soon as I call a db.savechanges(), it reloads the original content and the updates never reached the database.  I have been reading forums for hours but can't seem to pinpoint what I am doing wrong.  It seems pretty straigtforward seen I only want to write changes done in a databound grid back to the db. 

Thanks for your help.

VS 2010 / mysql 

Here I load data into the grid:

Dim qryPricing = From objProperty In dcVilla.tblpropertydetail
                         Join objPricing In dcVilla.tblpricing
                         On objProperty.prop_det_index Equals objPricing.prop_id
                         Where objProperty.prop_det_Status = True
                         Where objPricing.prop_state = True
                         Order By objPricing.prop_rental_single
                         Select New With {.prop_id = objPricing.prop_id, .prop_rental_single = objPricing.prop_rental_single, .prop_rental_double = objPricing.prop_rental_double, .prop_rental_triple = objPricing.prop_rental_triple, .prop_rental_Quadruple = objPricing.prop_rental_quadruple, .prop_state = objPricing.prop_state, .prop_date_active = objPricing.prop_date_active, .prop_date_inactive = objPricing.prop_date_inactive}

grdPricing.DataSource = qryPricing
            grdPricing.AutoGenerateColumns = True

and this code is used on the click event of a button:

grdPricing.EndEdit()
    dcVilla.SaveChanges()

Thanks a lot,

Stijn

Thursday, May 31, 2012 1:22 PM

Answers

• Hi Stijn;