none
Data Access Layer - guidance RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a newbie building my first database app in vb.net (SQL CE 3.5) using dataset Designer.

I'm wanting to design my application in the right way and so want to have separate Data, Bussiness, Presentation layers.

Has anyone got any good links to how to design a 'simple' data access layer? I think I'm going to have to make a DataAccess class that will have methods for interacting with the physical database. It isn't easy to find a well-written, clear explanation of how to do it though !

Thanks for any assistance ! ... 
    Wednesday, January 13, 2010 9:57 AM

Answers

• Hi..

Microsoft has provided a Various Application Blocks for doing common activities in .NET.

Download the Microsoft Enterprise Library in NET. In that you can find the Data Access Application Block.

Which will helpful for creating the Data Access Layers.

To download the follow the link : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=1643758B-2986-47F7-B529-3E41584B6CE5&displaylang=en

Thanks in Advance

Best Regards,
    Gopi V

If you have found this post helpful, please click the Vote as Helpful link (the green triangle and number on the top-left).

If this post answers your question, click the Mark As Answered link below. It helps others who experience the same issue in future to find the solution.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010 10:40 AM
  • SQL database is the data provider for your application. Like ado.net supports many providers, OLEDB, sqlClient, Oracle,ODBC etc. In your case, you can use SqlClient class, which interally talks to database engine. This class will help you to do all database specfic operations .For eg. opening a new connection, closing connection, executing a query/procedure etc.

You need a Adapter object to execute these operations. in which you can set your DB proerties like, connection strings, db credentials etc.