none
Difference of field and property RRS feed

• Question

• Hi teams,

I am new to programming and am learning reflection now.

Usually, we will write a class like this:

class MyClass
        {
            private int id;
            private string name;
            public int ID
            {
                get { return this.id; }
                set { this.id = value; }
            }
            public string Name
            {
                get { return this.name; }
                set { this.name = value; }
            }
        }

Then ,when i try to get field, it goes like this:

Int32 id
    System.String name

But if i only write property,

class Class2
        {
            public int ID { get; set; }
            public string Name { get; set; }
        }

I can still get two fields, although looks strange:

Int32 <ID>k__BackingField
    System.String <Name>k__BackingField

So, my question is:

Since I write fields or not, there will be fields generated, so why should I write the fields myself? What is the significance of the field? 

Thanks in advance.

Robert

Monday, January 13, 2020 2:32 PM

Answers

• Hello,

Here is a good page to explain differences rather than me writing up something which has already been covered.

https://www.jeremymorgan.com/blog/programming/properties-vs-fields/

Note, on auto properties or expression body members (readonly), there is always a backing field as you have learned. You write fields yourself when you need to do some work in a fully implemented property, otherwise no need.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmarked them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.

NuGet BaseConnectionLibrary for database connections.

StackOverFlow
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange