none
CreateSymbolicLink & SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_ALLOW_UNPRIVILEGED_CREATE RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am a beginner in C#. I have a problem with SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_ALLOW_UNPRIVILEGED_CREATE flag in CreateSymbolicLink(). When I enable Developer Mode in my Windows 10 Enterprise (Version 1709 Build 16299.19) then I can create symbolic link without admins rights, but when I disable Dev Mode - this flag doesn't work ;/ I can't run this script without admin rights ;/

So could I ask you to help me with this problem - do I need Developer Mode enable to use SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_ALLOW_UNPRIVILEGED_CREATE flag ? 

Below is my code - maybe there is some problem ? 

using System;
    using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
    using System.IO;

namespace link
    {
        public class symlink
        {
            [DllImport("kernel32.dll")]
            public static extern bool CreateSymbolicLink(string lpSymlinkFileName, string lpTargetFileName, int dwFlags);
            static int SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_DIRECTORY = 0x1;
            static int SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_ALLOW_UNPRIVILEGED_CREATE = 0x2;
            static int flag = 0x0;
            static void Main(string[] args)
            {

string link = @"symlink_path";
                string directory = @"target_directory_path";

flag = SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_DIRECTORY | SYMBOLIC_LINK_FLAG_ALLOW_UNPRIVILEGED_CREATE;
                Console.WriteLine(flag);
                Console.ReadLine();

CreateSymbolicLink(link, directory, flag);
                if (Directory.Exists(@"symlink_path"))
                {
                    Console.WriteLine("SYMLINK created for {0} <------> {1}", link, directory);
                    Console.ReadLine();
                }
                else
                {
                    Console.WriteLine("Symlink doesn't exist", link, directory);
                    Console.ReadLine();
                    Console.WriteLine();
                }
            }
        }
    }

Thanks a lot for help!

Regards,