Can You (Safely) Install and Run Multipile Versions (Editions) of SQL Server 2008R2 Express On The Same Machine? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a total newbie to SQL Server Express (or SQL Server in general), so forgive me if this is a "dumb" question.

I have decided it would be worth my time to study for (and obtain) Microsoft SQL Server certifications.  I am specifically studying to pass exams 70-432 (SQL Server 2008 - Database Administration) and 70-433 (SQL Server Database Development).  I purchased the book "Murach's SQL Server 2008 for Developers" as a study guide.  This book came with a recommendation that I install the SQL Server Express ("with Tools") edition along with a sample database (downloaded from their web site) which complements the code examples in their book.  I downloaded and installed both the Express edition ("with Tools") and the sample database to my x86 laptop box (running Windows XP SP3) with no problems.  (Everything works!)