RememberMe control in Login adapter "forgets" RRS feed

• Question

• User-501180780 posted

Hi,

The CSS Friendly Control Adapters are wonderful (and should be standard as far as I'm concerned).

However, I'm having a problem with the RememberMe control in the Login adapter. (I'm new to ASP.NET and the adapters, so that may be part of the problem.) When the adapters are enabled and I login in with the "Remember me next time" box checked, no cookie file (e.g. "C:\Documents and Settings\Larry\Cookies\larry@localhost[1].txt") is generated and I am not remembered the next time I log in.

If I disable the adapters (by renaming the "App_Browsers" folder to "xApp_Browsers") and leave everything else the same, the cookie file is generated and I am remembered the next time I log in.

The problem occurs both on my current project and on a test website created from scratch using the "ASP.NET CSS Friendly Web Site" template. I am using IE 7 for my browser. The same problem is also seen with Firefox 1.5, so I don't think it's a browser problem.

I looked for differences in the HTML between the two pages. The only hint of a clue I had was that for the non-adapter page the control's ID is "ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_loginview1_login1_RememberMe" whereas for the adapted control it is "ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_loginview1_login1_RememberMeCheckBox". However, changing the adapter to remove the "CheckBox" suffix lead to errors when the page is viewed.

I was wondering if anyone else has seen that problem. If you have any clues on how to debug and/or fix this, please let me know.

Thanks!

Larry

Friday, September 15, 2006 12:49 PM

All replies

• User-534056067 posted

Hi Larry,

Gosh, I'm sorry this slipped past us.  I hate it when basic stuff is broken in the kit.  I appreciate your being so forgiving!  And, I especially appreciate your debugging efforts (described above).  They've saved me a bunch of time.