Error TypeLoadException when trying to connect to MySQL Database RRS feed

• Question

• Hey I am very new to developing on Windows CE 6.0. The device is a Motorola MC9190 (Barcode Scanner/Pocket PC).

I currently have a project set up in VS2008 Pro. However, when I try to deploy, I get the error:

Error 1 Post-deploy error 0x00000001 returned after calling '\Windows\wceload.exe /noui \Windows\NETCFv35.Messages.EN.wm.cab'. Device Connectivity Component

When I run the program anyways, it gets stuck on the line of code which connects the device to an SQL server and inserts data into the server. This is the error I get:

TypeLoadException was unhandled
    File or assembly name 'System.Data, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=B77A5C561934E089', or one of its dependencies, was not found.

Thanks for the help. 

Wednesday, February 12, 2014 4:01 PM

Answers

• No, that is not possible for the very same reason - there's no desktop framework on Windows CE. Whatever your app is a console or GUI or anything else does not change that.

You can run your console application on the desktop though and connect to it via TCP/IP from the device. That is essentially the same solution as web service, only harder.

I'm not actually suggesting you host the database on the device. It won't help you anyways unless you have a proper device compatible data adapter for the specific database.

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

• Marked as answer by Eileen ni Monday, March 3, 2014 8:07 AM
    Thursday, February 13, 2014 7:50 PM

All replies

• You must be using desktop MySQL data adapter. That won't work as it needs desktop framework.

Use device compatible version if available. If not then you cannot connect to MySQL directly and would need to use some kind of proxy, e.g. web service wrapper.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014 9:32 PM