locked
Version Conflicts during Merge RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I am currently checking out the merge functionaltity of tf. Consider the following scenario:

    1. Changes in File A are merged from branch 1 to branch 2.

    2. File A is modified again in branch 1.

    3. Changes in File A are merged from branch 1 to branch 2

    Why is the "Resolve Version Conflict" dialog coming up for the 2nd merge (with message "source and target both have changes").  All changes in Branch 2 are caused by previous merge operations. Therefore I would expect that the merge can be done completely automatically. What am I missing or doing wrong?

    Thanks for any help.

    Dirk

     

     

     

     

    Friday, June 23, 2006 7:27 AM

Answers

  • Something's not right here. Are you using the RTM version?

    Can you be more specific about what happened in step 1? Was there a
    conflict? How did you resolve it? If you had to merge changes, for
    instance, that counts as an edit for the target side.

    Friday, June 23, 2006 4:54 PM
    Moderator