Dynamically Select a Variable Based on Another Variables Contents RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to VBA and hoping someone can point me in the right direction ..

I am trying to use a do loop to make a variable assignment. The variables in this case are all the same but end with a number. Example: test1 - test10. I need to assign a value to each of these ten and want to use the do loop index to select the correct variable. So instead of:

test1 = somevalue

test2 = somevalue

test3 = somevalue       Etc.

I want to:

Do I = 1 to 10

"test" + I = newvalue           ' Assign newvalue to the tag test1

End Do

The body of the loop is where I'm lost. I want to somehow use "test" + I to reference test1, test2, etc. and not have to make an assignment for each one. I do not know how to concatenate the two pieces together to be able to reference the desired variable. My example is a very simple one. My actual application is hundreds of lines of code and I need to simplify the program.

I hope I have sufficiently described my question and thanks in advance for any help!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 7:17 PM

Answers

• Hi VTKeith,

Add a reference to 'Microsoft Script Control' and then the following will work or at least it does in Excel, not sure about your environment.

' these need to be public so that execute statement can access them

Public Var1 As Double

Public Var2 As Double

Public Var3 As Double

Private Sub Workbook_Open()

Dim scriptCtrl As ScriptControl

Set scriptCtrl = New ScriptControl

scriptCtrl.Language = "VBScript"

' add the object containing the public data fields that will be updated

' and give it a name so it can be accessed

scriptCtrl.AddObject "wrkbook", ThisWorkbook, True

' run the script accessing the public properties

For i = 1 To 3

scriptCtrl.ExecuteStatement "wrkbook.Var" & i & " = 5.557"

Next

MsgBox Var1

MsgBox Var2

MsgBox Var3

End Sub