none
Need help with Access Database RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi All,

I am new to Access database and I need help on how to write VB scripts/queries in Access (Are they similar to stored procedures?).

Also how can I access these queries inside access from a C# application?

Please help me I think I am getting lost badly while looking at the online tutorials....

Thanks

Palak

Wednesday, October 10, 2007 8:52 PM

Answers

• Yes, you can write queries in Access and call them from your app. Below is an action query example which accepts a single parameter:

Code Block

Dim AccessConn As System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnection

Dim AccessCommand As System.Data.OleDb.OleDbCommand

AccessConn = New System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & _

"Data Source=e:\My Documents\db1.mdb")

AccessConn.Open()

AccessCommand = New System.Data.OleDb.OleDbCommand("QueryDefName", AccessConn)

AccessCommand.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure

AccessCommand.Parameters.Add("@ParamName", System.Data.OleDb.OleDbType.VarWChar).Value = "SomeValue"

AccessCommand.ExecuteNonQuery()

AccessConn.Close()

You should be able to find quite a few examples of ways to create a data access layer.

Thursday, October 11, 2007 5:21 PM

All replies

•  

There are no stored procedures in Acces,

You can write the queries in your application and pass it to the Access database using object of System.Data.OleDbCommand class.

Thursday, October 11, 2007 10:41 AM
  •  

There are no stored procedures in Acces,

You can write the queries in your application and pass it to the Access database using object of System.Data.OleDbCommand class.

Thursday, October 11, 2007 11:41 AM
  • Access QueryDefs are similar but not the same. The actual query statement is parsed at the time of execution and not when it is saved. You can use the Access QBE (Query By Example) designer to create Access QueryDefs.