Excel Macro - Split mastersheet into severeal sub-sheets with multiple conditions RRS feed

• Question

• Hey all,

I have a table in excel which contains information about car leasing contracts. I need to split them by dealer, Vehicle Segment (Passenger car, van, other), and by used/new. Since there are 8 dealers, 3 segments and 2 factors used and new --> I end up with 8*3*2= 48 sheets. (luckily not all dealers sell all segments so it's actually less)

Is there a macro for that kind of split? Splitting a mastersheet into several sheets based on multiple conditions? Sadly I'm not a programmer at all!!

Thanks in advance!

Thursday, September 13, 2018 8:38 AM

All replies

• With your worksheet setup, is there a column that identifies each of the criteria something like the following screen shot? The columns can be in any order with other intermediate columns.

My initial thoughts are to Use AutoFilter to display each set of data and then the visible data can be copied to another worksheet.

How do you intend naming the worksheets. Suggestion abbrev "Dealer name-Car-used", "Dealer name-Other-New" etc where the name is created with the AutoFilters set for the data. They do not have to be this way but there must be some rules for naming the worksheets. It could be a matrix table on a separate worksheet with the sheet name and data columns to include on the sheet.

If required, some of the columns on the master sheet can be excluded on each individual sheet provided you supply the rules.

It will be much easier if you upload a copy of your workbook to OneDrive. If there is sensitive data then just make a copy of the workbook and either delete the sensitive data or replace it with dummy data. eg. Dealer names can be replaced with Name1, Name2 etc.

1. Guidelines to upload a workbook on OneDrive. (If you already use OneDrive and your process for saving to it is different then you can probably start at step 8 to get the link but please zip the file before uploading.)