How to use Repository Pattern in MVC with View specific Models? RRS feed

• Question

• User1639864676 posted

I'm trying to implement the repository and unit of work patterns in an existing MVC project. I already have classes which I use to create different models specific to particular Views. These classes communitcate to the database using Entity Framework, and a using() block to call Dispose.

I've seen many many examples of using Repo/UoW patterns directly in Controllers.  But I have custom View specific Models (which I manage with classes like SalesOrderViewModelManager) in many cases which help select and populate models for the Views. I don't know how to manage view specific models like this or if this is a normal thing to do, as I'm kind of new to alot these frameworks and patterns.

What I am trying to figure out is where now and to implement the Repo/UoW patterns. A ViewModelManager will have a method like:

public SalesAgreementVM GetAgreement(int CustomerId, int OrderId)

This and all other methods communitcate with the database via Entity Framework with a using() block in the method itself.

I don't implement all CRUD, in fact, this app pretty much only reads from the DB.  But now that must change, as it needs to update the DB entities now.

When I recieve a POST from a user wanting to edit the data, I'm using the controller to do model binding back into the View specific Model that I used to create the view the client browser uses to edit the data.  But this model does not match any specific repo, as it was designed for the View.

My instincts are telling me I need some sort of layer between my View specific models and my Repos to implement CRUD operations. But I just don't know much about this.  I learn fast, but I'm still very junior.

Monday, June 19, 2017 4:21 PM

Answers

• User1068175894 posted

look into automapper