none
Getting older version of css file from drive mapped to Master Page Gallery

Question

• Using SharePoint 2013 On Premise.  I have a css file in the Master Page Gallery.  I have a mapped drive to the Master Page Gallery.  When browsing to the Master Page Gallery the modified timestamp says 12/21/2018 12:14 pm, version history shows this as the current published major version.  

In the File Explorer I see the same timestamp.  If I download a copy of the file from the Master Page Gallery, open it in regular Notepad I get the latest changes.  

But, if I browse to the drive I mapped to the Master Page Gallery, I see the latest timestamp.  But, if I open it in Notepad, I get an older version.  

Why is this happening??  

The css file is referenced in a page layout link.  I *might* have opened the file in SharePoint designer at some point.  Would this affect it?  

Eventually, as in the next day I think the file shows up as the current version, but I would like to be able to edit and save more than one time per day as I am in the development phase.   I also noticed issues when a co-worker placed some files in the master page gallery for me.  She was seeing a new version, I was not.  Then she started seeing the old version.  

Any suggestions would be most appreciated!

Friday, December 21, 2018 6:19 PM

All replies

• Its related to cache refreshes what I see..

Just  clear it via powershell and I think central admin, but here is the powershell:

$webApp = Get-SPWebApplication "<WebApplicationURL>"
    [Microsoft.SharePoint.Publishing.PublishingCache]::FlushBlobCache($webApp)

The setting for the time is here in the web config.

" path="\.(gif|jpg|png|css|js|swf|flv)$" maxSize="10" enabled="true" max-age="36000" />

Hope this helps...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please don't forget to “mark the replies as answers if they helped, also set "like" it’s a boost for us to keep blogging J