New to Unit Testing Question RRS feed

• Question

• I have a method in which I would like to "unit test". I am new to writing unit tests. Now, it maybe that I still don't completely understand how everything should work. I know SQL Server is in fact a "downstream system". So maybe this isn't a proper use of a unit test. Still I would think that this should be possible??

I have written a method that returns a boolean based on a database call. Now I know if I give it driverid 1673 it returns as true. In my test I give it driverid 1673 and  I assert that it should return a true. I know this method works, however, when I run my UnitTest in VisualStudio TestExplorer I get the following error :

Result Message: 
    Test method UnitTesting.UnitTest1+UnitTestSample.TestForEmployeeDriver threw exception:
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    Result StackTrace: 
    at ConsoleApplication3_withUnitTests.JasonClass.AreTheyanEmployee(Int32 driverid) in c:\Users\jlivengood\Documents\Visual Studio 2012\Projects\ConsoleApplication3_withUnitTests\ConsoleApplication3_withUnitTests\Program.cs:line 46

Line 46 is where the string connection is created  that uses ConfigurationManager class. The AreTheyanEmployee method is actually part of a ConsoleApp.When I run this method (giving it driver id 1673) in my console app it works fine with it returning a true. The "DHP" connection string is defined in my app config. It seems the that the test just doesn't like waiting for the response from sql server. Is this a proper use of a unit test? Is there something I'm not understanding? Would this be where I would use a mock object ? Can anybody help me to better understand what is going on here? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. The Method and the tests are below

Jason