Text With Image RRS feed

• Question

• User3559 posted

Hi All,

I am new to creating Android apps. And thought I would come here to learn to create some basic stuff. As you r the experts, I woondered if you could spare a few mins. I want to create an app that will allow me to enter multiline text plus images within a text field, is this possible? if so what is the best control to use?

Regards,

Ben

Monday, February 25, 2013 4:27 PM

Answers

• User209 posted

I thought I could use a few minutes for this problem, but it turned into two hours of messing around with code. However now I have tried this stuff and it is actually quite simple!

Android has a concept called Spannables which allows for formatting text with images, urls, text formatting such as bold, italic and strikethrough text. They can be used in TextViews and EditTexts, which is pretty neat, because this will help you add images to your text!

I've cooked up some sample code here: https://gist.github.com/Cheesebaron/5034440

But let me try to briefly explain how it works.

In the Activity1.cs file I have the following code which adds an image to a TextView.

var imageSpan = new ImageSpan(this, Resource.Drawable.Icon); //Find your drawable.
    var spannableString = new SpannableString(textView.Text); //Set text of SpannableString from TextView
    spannableString.SetSpan(imageSpan, textView.Text.Length - 1, textView.Text.Length, 0); //Add image at end of string

ImageSpan is the awesome class to use here, it loads up an image which you can use in Spannables and as seen in the sample above, I take the text from the TextView, create a SpannableString and add the ImageSpan at the end of the SpannableString. Easy as that I have added an image to my TextView.