Capture screenshot of video playing in MediaElement RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone:

I have a task to take picture of video which playing in MediaElement in Windows Store APP(8.1). But I find there isn't a way like WPF to take picture of video in windows store. Maybe MFT or Direct X can do it, but I didn't find any useful example. I'm not good at C++. If you have any userful information, better a sample code, it would be great.

Thanks.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014 2:26 AM

Answers

• You will need to write an MFT for this in C++. We don't have an exact example, but the Media extensions sample will demonstrate the basic techniques needed to get started.
    • Marked as answer by Anne Jing Tuesday, January 28, 2014 1:59 AM
    Tuesday, January 21, 2014 2:38 AM

All replies

• You will need to write an MFT for this in C++. We don't have an exact example, but the Media extensions sample will demonstrate the basic techniques needed to get started.
    • Marked as answer by Anne Jing Tuesday, January 28, 2014 1:59 AM
    Tuesday, January 21, 2014 2:38 AM
  • Hi,

I am also trying to get video screenshot of the current video frame playing on MediaElement on Windows Phone 8.1 but no success so far. I could get a static screenshot using RenderTargetBitmap but video area gets blank.

Any help on this case?

Thanks a lot

Monday, May 5, 2014 10:07 PM
  • You will need to write an MFT to grab the frame from the video feed. RenderTargetBitmap cannot see the video or DX output (see the RenderTargetBitmap documentation for more details).

--Rob

Monday, May 12, 2014 4:57 PM
  • I had this same need and wound up using Media Foundation (in a separate C++ runtime component DLL and it works great. MF is intimidating at first but it's not bad once you get used to the COM syntax.

The basic steps are numerous, but straightforward

1) Call MFStartup

2) Get an IMFByteStream from MFCreateMFByteStreamOnStreamEx using a RandomAccessStream you got from a StorageFile or whatnot