Is it time to change the DTD to HTML 5 yet or shall i stick to 4.01S? RRS feed

• General discussion

• As you may all be aware of I am a newbie, that is why i am leaning HTML 4.01 strict and not its 'transitional' flavour as I have no legacy Webs to modify. What is the combined wisdom here of selecting the Document Type Declaration of HTML 5 and CSS 3 draft or is it a case of sticking to (HTML 4.01S & CSS 2.1)  until further notice?

Philip

Tuesday, March 6, 2012 9:46 AM

All replies

• First off I wouldn't use 'strict'. That may lead you into problems with different browsers.

HTML5/CSS3 is definitely the way forward, especially if you have a comsumer-facing site that needs to be mobile friendly. However you will need to use 'shims' (JavaScript functions that provide HTML5 features) for older browsers.

So, if you are a raw beginner I'd say use 'XHTML transitional' (not HTML 4.01 Transitional) to start with and then explore what HTML5/CSS3 have to offer and what you need to do to use them.

HTH

Ian Haynes

EW - V4 Add-Ins
    EW - Resources, hints and tips
    EW - Design for the Mobile Web

Tuesday, March 6, 2012 11:14 AM
  • I Think you can use the HTML5 Doctype "HTML"  without any trouble since its backward compatible, but as Ian says if you are going to use HTML5 or CSS3 features then you may have issues and need the shims. I have been using the 5 Doctype and have not seen any issues with old browsers yet but we are not using too many advanced features either.
    Tuesday, March 6, 2012 12:41 PM