Extensibility pointers for creating code after properties have been "decorated" with .net attributes RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, could somebody point me on the right direction? I am new to VSX.

I'd like to find the properties decorated with my .NET attributes and extend this class (with a Partial class) when it is being saved or when it is being edited (preferably)

Thanks for any assistance that you may provide.

Julio Santos
    Sunday, September 18, 2011 4:25 PM

Answers

• Hi Julio,

It's more problematic that you might think. Reflection would be my first suggestion, but as you mentioned it requires some sort of background build, and if you load the assembly into the IDE to query the various types, you'll lock the assembly and won't be able to rebuild it without restarting the IDE. :-(

I don't think the codemodel api's are granular enough to allow you to pick various attributes off a class definition, so you'll likely have to revert to parsing the sources yourself. Also, I don't think you can use an SFG to 'extend' a class or object. An SFG be definition takes a file and generates a single file for it. If you were to assign an SFG to your code file, I would expect it to no longer be included in the build. Rather the output of the SFG would be included in the build.

Sincerely,

Ed Dore
    • Marked as answer by Yi Feng Li Friday, October 7, 2011 1:14 AM
    Thursday, September 22, 2011 3:21 AM
  • Hi

>>Do you have any recommendations for creating (or editing) a file inside the VS project?

You can use Visual Studio Automation object (DTE) to add files into the project and/or edit the code via codemodel.  

The detail information about access the code model, please check Discovering Code with the Code Model, http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms228763.aspx.