COUNTIF to DAX Expression RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Guys,

I have several COUNTIF formulas, but I don't know how to be able to change it to DAX expression. See below formula for example:

TOTAL COUNT of TODAY: =COUNTIFS(Sheet1!$D$9:$D$1004,'Sheet2!$A22,Sheet1!$E$9:$E$1004,"NCR",Sheet1!$H$9:$H$1004,"<="&TODAY,Sheet1!$N$9:$N$1004,">"&TODAY)+COUNTIFS(Sheet1!$D$9:$D$1004,'Sheet2'!$A22,Sheet1!$E$9:$E$1004,"NCR",Sheet1!$H$9:$H$1004,"<="&TODAY,Sheet!$N$9:$N$1004,"="&"")

TOTAL COUNT of 1 WEEK AGO to PRESENT:

=COUNTIFS(Sheet!$D$9:$D$1004,'Sheet2'!$A22,Sheet1!$E$9:$E$1004,"NCR",Sheet1!$H$9:$H$1004,"<="&WEEKAGO,Sheet1!$N$9:$N$1004,">"&WEEKAGO)+COUNTIFS(Sheet1!$D$9:$D$1004,'Sheet2'!$A22,Sheet1!$E$9:$E$1004,"NCR",Sheet1!$H$9:$H$1004,"<="&WEEKAGO,Sheet1!$N$9:$N$1004,"="&"")

Calendar Table: Today: =Today(), Week Ago: =Today()-7, Two Weeks Ago: =Today()-14, Month Ago: =Today()-30, Two Months Ago: =Today()-60, Six Months Ago: =Today()-180, Year Ago: =Today()-365

I'm very new to PowerPivot and I have little idea about making DAX expression I will be able to play around with the DAX expression if I will be given at least the sequence or pattern of DAX expression that will provide the same result with above excel COUNTIF formulas.

I already have PowerPivot table (Table1) were Sheet1 Column D is "Recipient Dept", Sheet2 Column A lookup value to "Recipient Dept", Sheet1 Column E "Document Type", Sheet1 Column N "Date Issued" and Sheet1 Column N "Date Verification".

Also, I have a calendar table in PowerPivot namely as follows; Date Issed:"Calendar_Issued", Date Verification: "Calendar_Ver" with relationship to Table1.

Any update will be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Monday, May 23, 2016 5:35 AM

Answers

• Hi Mielkew,

Welcome to Power Pivot ;-)

One would implement the 'IF' part of your Excel formulas through a DAX filter. I normally start with an unfiltered calculation like

TotalCount:=COUNT(<whatever column you want to count>)