none
Using COM DLLs with with unmanged c++ RRS feed

• Question

• I am still a bit new to Windows programming and sometimes find the documentation and tutorials I find confusing and sometimes contradictory but I hope I can make some sense and be corrected on any points I am mistaken about. I am using an API where the documentation included is quite poor. It is made up of a number of DLLs that they envisioned would be added as a reference to VB projects (most of the users are biologists/chemists and are not very familiar with other languages, so they recommend VB). I thought they were .NET dlls at first but they cannot be registered with regasm and a tlb cannot be generated using this but can be registered with regsvr32, so I guess that means they are COM dlls...please correct me if I am wrong.

My understanding is that as this exposes the COM objects that I should be able to use this with .NET languages and unmanged c++. I have used it in C# but I would also like to use this in unmanged c++. I have seen tutorials like this: http://cppkid.wordpress.com/2009/01/...nmanaged-code/ That import the type library but I do not have this, it was not supplied with the API. However using OLE viewer I was able to see that they were available (embedded in the dll?). Can I simply import the dll using the #import directive?  I was wondering if anyone knows how I can go from this to actually using the dll in c++.

Cheers and thanks for any help.

Tuesday, February 7, 2012 7:35 PM

Answers

• Hello MrProsser,

1. >> ...but can be registered with regsvr32, so I guess that means they are COM dlls...please correct me if I am wrong...

Yes, if it can be registered using regsvr32, it is definitely a (unmanaged) COM DLL.

2. >> However using OLE viewer I was able to see that they were available (embedded in the dll?).

Yes, the TLB is embedded as a resource of a COM DLL.

3. >> Can I simply import the dll using the #import directive?

Yes, you can #import the DLL.